Guys or Ladies: Who is more likely to cheat in relationships and why?

I think it’s safe to say both gender cheat.👦👩

However, there is still one gender with the higher tendency to cheat and personally, I think it’s the guys👦 – not because I’m a lady but because of what I’ve read and experienced. You’ll find out why much later in this post.☺️

Let’s also bear in mind that cheating here involves all forms and types:

  • Physical – Making out, having sex, etc…with someone else.
  • Emotional – Confiding and sharing intimate thoughts, etc…with someone else.
  • Cyber – Online dating, flirting on social media, etc… with someone else.
  • Chexting – Sending messages with the intention of hooking up with someone else or containing sexual pictures and contents.

Cheating is to be emotionally or physically unfaithful. There are degrees of cheating from sexual betrayal of a partner or spouse to affairs of the heart in which a member of a relationship has a secret, emotionally meaningful relationship outside his or her primary one.

Jeffrey Rubin, Ph.D

Meanwhile, let me share with you, what some of my friends (5 guys and 5 girls) think. I’ld start with the ladies:


I actually think it’s balanced. It’s BOTH of them in most cases.

Victoria

All the cases we’ve heard in this life are GUYS and they only cheat because of breast, bumbum and sex. If we look at am wella, na guys. Menascum

Omisore Jasmine Temitope

BOTH gender cheat tbh , I honestly don’t think the scale is more tipped to one than the other, it really boils down to the people in the relationship.
Why? People cheat for money, covetousness, attraction to other people.

Rhoda

Mehnnn it’s GUYS ooo…….because they have less discipline when it comes to sexual acts….they can be easily seduced too…..and it’s in their nature to cheat…….MEN ARE SCUM!!!!

Thebatagirl

Honestly, i don’t think there’s a likelihood measurement for this o, person wey wan cheat go still cheat, Male or female. Guys o, ladies o, all of them join, BOTH are likely to cheat.

Chibaby

Now over to the gentlemen:


To me though BOTH are more likely to cheat, it doesn’t depend on gender, just the personality of the person or the kind of person you’re dealing with.

Anonymous Papi

GUYS actually, my gender is a scum. 65% of guys have commitment issues, we don’t like being dominated by just one person. Sexual desire is part of it too.. If a girl can’t match our sexual desire we’d probably cheat on that girl.

Tife

I’d say LADIES because guys generally only cheat for sexual reasons. However, with girls it can be both.

Zena

Tbh, I no sure… To me it’s BOTH. It’s easier for a lady though, they get more attention.

Legend

Well! Scum has no gender.
However, I like to think that the likelihood of cheating falls on LADIES, not because guys don’t have the tendency to cheat, but because guys are most times prevented by the fact that ladies won’t ask them out, for obvious reasons.

Anon

Now, let me explain why I think the chances that a guy would cheat in a relationship is higher than that of a lady (focus is on the Nigerian guys that I’ve met 😌).

1. The African Culture and Society

I think majority of Nigerians will agree with me that their grand-fathers, great-grand-fathers, fore-fathers had more than one wives. The Nigerian man was always allowed more than one wife. It signified wealth and affluence.

The women, on the other hand, would be disgraced if such acts were practiced by them. They were not allowed to hang out with multiple men, date more than one man at a time or marry more than one man. You’d hear ‘she’s a prostitute’ amongst other things.

2. Physical attraction

Guys are attracted to what they see. A beautiful lady with the right features a particular guy likes can drive him crazy. He doesn’t necessarily need to love her or have any emotional connection or feelings for her. He just wants to taste her. Finish.

However, most ladies need much more than a fine guy to cheat. Ever heard a girl say “that guy is just fine, no sense” or “he’s just tall and fine, I cannot can.” I hear these and more all the time. Most ladies have to bond with a guy before the thought of cheating comes to mind.

3. Body count

Most guys here take pride in having sex with a lot of ladies. I don’t know why. Like does it increase your account balance?😂 They want to increase their body count and at any cost sometimes, even if it means cheating. They are eager to boast to their friends about the number of ladies they have slept with.

Even in the University, I could be talking with some guys and a girl would walk by, they’d just whisper ‘that one, I don fuck am”, or “my guys don fuck am” and they would start laughing.

I don’t see things like this with ladies though. I don’t know if there are ladies that take pride in having sex with a lot of guys. If there are, I’m yet to meet them.

4. Fun

One of the things I learned from Steve Harvey’s book, ‘Act Like A Lady, Think Like A Man’ is that most guys want to know how long it takes to get the cookie. They are all up in your messages, acting like angels only because of that one thing they are after- sex. They basically want to know how long it will take for you to have sex with them. Especially if you’re now the hard girl, hard girl type. That’s why most times after sex, you stop getting all that attention.

So a guy could be in a relationship with the love of his entire life and still be giving someone else attention, just for the fun of knowing how long it takes you to have sex with him.

On the other hand, I don’t think a lady in a very serious relationship would flirt with another guy just for the purpose of knowing how long it would take him to want to sleep with her.

5. Sexual Desire

When it comes to the physical form of cheating, there’s no argument. ‘Konji’ is a bastard. You guys know already. Guys have more urge for sex. I’m not a guy but I know for sure, Ladies can’t beat that. Dahs all!😂😂

Conclusion

Majority of the ladies i asked said both gender are likely to cheat while majority of the guys said the ladies are more likely to cheat and both gender as well. I believe answers to questions like this vary from person to person, depending on the kind of people we’ve come across with, our experiences and our beliefs as well, so excuse me 🙏 if I’ve come across guys who influenced my decision. I’m not gender-biased in any way.😌

Let me know what you think in the comment section.♥️ A great man once said ” In the end, any faithful party is the MVP.”


P. S. This post is dedicated to my dear friend of 7 years, Emeka Afuberoh (Mekky). He died May 27th, 2020 from a brief illness; he had the SS genotype. I love you but God loves you more.👼Please 🙏 check your genotype and that of your partner before getting married or having children. It is very important. 💯 Thanks for reading.🤗

16 thoughts on “Guys or Ladies: Who is more likely to cheat in relationships and why?

  1. Hiya!
    This is an interesting read, the information is clear and I think the pendulum cannot totally tilt to one side.
    Keep entertaining us.

    Also, sorry about your friend, may his soul rest in peace and please cheer up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice write up.
    There are different angles and perceptions to who cheats more. The funny thing is all those angles will make sense if you critically review it unbiasedly but the truth or perhaps my opinion is that cheating is not a gender thing, it balls down to personality of the individual or personal experience, male or female.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. To be honest, I still think it’s guys that cheat most in relationships. You’ll hear them say it’s not cheating as far as “I don’t have feelings for the girl, you are the one I love and that’s all that matters” – yen yen yen.
    But for real, cheating is cheating even if it’s just kissing or sex chatting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tbh it’s both genders, and I think it’s even deeper for girls,guys mostly cheat just for the sex but ladies can cheat for money,sex and they’ll still add emotions to it,most times all it takes to get a girl is just the right amount of attention and spoiling her silly 🚶🏽‍♀️🚶🏽‍♀️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment